Football clubs

An overview of some of the most merited football clubs in the history of the game.

Football clubs ordered after establishment

The oldest football clubs were founded in the middle of the 19th century. Some of the oldest clubs no longer exist. The list below is a compilation of clubs that were established in the 19th century.

Founded Name Country Notes
1857 Sheffield Wednesday England Founded as Sheffield Club
1859 Wanderers FC England Dissolved in 1887
1862 Notts County England  
1863 Stoke City FC England Founded as Stoke Ramblers
1863 Royal Engineers  England  
1864 Brigg Town England  
1864 Wrexham AFC Wales  
1865 Nottingham Forest England  
1866 Cambridge University AFC England  
1867 Queen's Park FC Scotland  
1869 Clapham Rovers England Dissolved in 1911
1870 Abingdon Town England Founded as Abingdon FC
1870 Maidenhead United England  
1870 Marlow England  
1870 Stranraer FC Scotland  
1871 Reading FC England  
1871 Old Etonians England  
1872 Dumbarton FC Scotland  
1872 Rangers FC England  
1874 Aston Villa England  
1874 Bolton Wanderers England  
1874 Greenock Morton Scotland  
1874 Hamilton Academical FC Scotland  
1875 Birmingham City England Founded as Small Heath Alliance
1875 Blackburn Rovers England  
1875 Hibernian FC Scotland  
1875 Newtown AFC Wales  
1876 Falkirk FC Scotland  
1876 Middlesbrough FC England  
1876 Old Carthusians FC England  
1877 Blackburn Olympic England  
1877 St Mirren Scotland  
1877 Wolverhampton Wanderers FC England  
1878 Accrington FC England Dissolved in 1878
1878 Everton FC England  
1878 Grimsby Town England  
1878 Ipswich Town England Founded as Ipswich Association FC
1878 Manchester United FC England  
1878 West Bromwich Albion FC England Founded as West Bromwich Strollers
1878 Blackburn Olympic FC England 1889
1879 Cliftonville FC Northern Ireland  
1879 Fulham FC England  
1879 Sunderland AFC England  
1879 Swindon Town FC England  
1880 Preston North End England  
1880 Manchester City England Founded as St. Mark's
1881 Colwyn Bay FC Wales  
1881 FC Girondins de Bordeaux France  
1881 Leyton Orient FC England Founded as Glyn Cricket and FC
1881 Watford FC England Founded as Watford Rovers
1882 Burnley FC England  
1882 Glentoran FC Northern Ireland  
1882 Liverpool FC England  
1882 Tottenham Hotspur FC England Founded as Hotspur
1883 Coventry City England Founded as Singer’s FC
1884 Bristol City England  
1884 Derby County England Founded as Bristol South End
1884 Leicester City FC England Founded as Leicester Fosse
1885 Bury England  
1885 Luton Town FC England  
1885 Millwall FC England  
1885 Southampton FC England  
1885 Újpest FC Hungary  
1886 Arsenal FC England  
1886 Linfield FC Northern Ireland Founded as Linfield Athletic Club
1886 Queens Park Rangers FC England  
1887 Athlone Town AFC Ireland  
1887 Barnsley England  
1887 Blackpool England  
1887 Celtic FC Scotland  
1887 Hamburger SV Germany  
1888 MTK Budapest FC Hungary  
1889 Brentford England  
1889 Sheffield United England  
1889 Wimbledon FC England Milton Keynes Dons since 2004
1890 Bohemian FC Ireland  
1890 Sevilla FC Spain  
1892 Newcastle United FC England  
1893 Genoa CFC Italy  
1893 Oxford United FC England Founded as Heddington
1893 FC Porto Portugal  
1895 Oldham Athletic England Founded as Pine Ville
1895 Shelbourne FC Ireland  
1895 West Ham United FC England  
1897 Juventus FC Italy  
1897 Northampton Town FC England  
1898 Portsmouth England  
1899 TSV 1860 Munich Germany  
1899 FC Barcelona Spain  
1899 Cardiff City Wales  
1899 AFC Bournemouth England  
1899 Ferencváros Hungary  
1899 Olympique de Marseille France  
1899 AC Milan Italy  
1899 Shamrock Rovers FC Ireland  
1899 SV Werder Bremen Germany  

Other clubs

Additional clubs presented on the site: Bradford City, Charlton Athletic, Crystal Palace, Huddersfield Town, Hull City, Norwich City, Swansea City, Wigan Athletic.

International football leagues

The countries listed above possess the biggest and most succesful leagues in the world.