World Cup 2022

The World Cup Qatar 2022 is the 22nd edition of the FIFA football tournament. Here you can find facts about World Cup 2022 including dates, times, groups, fixtures, venues and historical stats. World Cup Qatar 2022 is scheduled to take place 21 November-18 December, being the first World Cup edition that is not played during the summer due to weather conditions in host country. The key facts for the event including the venues, the groups, the fixtures and game locations are presented below.
In Total 210 teams are involved in the qualification tournament. Follow the World Cup Qatar 2020 Qualification at

Official poster

Official poster World Cup Qatar 2022

Participating teams

  • Qatar


Opening game: World Cup 2022 opens in Al Khor 21 November 2022, 13:00 (UTC+3) with the match Qatar v [unknown team].
Group stage dates: The group stage is played November 21-2 December.
Group knockout phase dates: The knockout phase stage is played December 3-18.
The final dates: The final is played on December 18.

Follow the news for the coming World Cup at

Cities and arenas

In total 8 stadiums will be used in the tournament in five cities. The final would be played at Lusail Iconic Stadium in Lusail (capacity 80,000)

The semi-finals will be played at Lusail Iconic Stadium and Al Bayt Stadium. The final will be played at Lusail Iconic Stadium.

The groups

The top two teams in each group advance to the knockout phase. The groups will be updated with teams when the qualification has ended, which will be the 15 June.

The teams in the World Cup 2022 will be divided among six continents and will also include the directly qualified host nation:

Asia: 4 direct (+1 possible via play-off)
Africa: 5 direct
North America, Central America and Caribbean: 3 direct (+1 possible via play-off)
South America: 4 direct (+1 possible via play-off)
Oceania: 0 direct (+1 possible via play-off 1)
Europe: 13

Group A: Qatar, team 2, team 3, team 4
Group B: team 1, team 2, team 3, team 4
Group C: team 1, team 2, team 3, team 4
Group D:
team 1, team 2, team 3, team 4
Group E: team 1, team 2, team 3, team 4
Group F: team 1, team 2, team 3, team 4
Group G: team 1, team 2, team 3, team 4
Group H: team 1, team 2, team 3, team 4



In total 64 matches are played during the competition.

GROUP STAGE (NOTICE! The match scheme below is incorrect and will be uptated when the matches are decided)

11 June

Group A: Turkey v Italy (CET 21:00, Rome)

12 June

Group A: Wales v Switzerland (15:00, Baku)
Group B: Denmark v Finland (18:00, Copenhagen)
Group B: Belgium v Russia (21:00, St Petersburg)

13 June

Group D: England v Croatia (15:00, London)
Group C: Austria v North Macedonia (18:00, Bucharest)
Group C: Netherlands v Ukraine (21:00, Amsterdam)

14 June

Group D: Play-off winner C v Czech Republic (15:00, Glasgow)
Group E: Poland v Slovakia (18:00, Dublin)
Group E: Spain v Sweden (21:00, Bilbao)

15 June

Group F: Hungary v Portugal (18:00, Budapest)
Group F: France v Germany (21:00, Munich)

16 June

Group B: Finland v Russia (15:00, St Petersburg)
Group A: Turkey v Wales (18:00, Baku)
Group A: Italy v Switzerland (21:00, Rome)

17 June

Group C: Ukraine v North Macedonia (15:00, Bucharest)
Group B: Denmark v Belgium (18:00, Copenhagen)
Group C: Netherlands v Austria (21:00, Amsterdam)

18 June

Group E: Sweden v Slovakia (15:00, Dublin)
Group D: Croatia v Czech Republic (18:00, Glasgow)
Group D: England v Scotland (21:00, London)

19 June

Group F: Hungary v France (15:00, Budapest)
Group F: Portugal v Germany (18:00, Munich)
Group E: Spain v Poland (21:00, Bilbao)

20 June

Group A: Italy v Wales (18:00, Rome)
Group A: Switzerland v Turkey (18:00, Baku)

21 June

Group C: North Macedonia v Netherlands (18:00, Amsterdam)
Group C: Ukraine v Austria (18:00, Bucharest)
Group B: Russia v Denmark (21:00, Copenhagen)
Group B: Finland v Belgium (21:00, St Petersburg)

22 June

Group D: Czech Republic v England (21:00, London)
Group D: Croatia v Scotland (21:00, Glasgow)

23 June

Group E: Slovakia v Spain (18:00, Bilbao)
Group E: Sweden v Poland (18:00, Dublin)
Group F: Germany v Hungary (21:00, Munich)
Group F: Portugal v France (21:00, Budapest)


Round of 16

26 June

1: 2A v 2B (18:00, Amsterdam)
2: 1A v 2C (21:00, London)

27 June

3: 1C v 3D/E/F (18:00, Budpest)
4: 1B v 3A/D/E/F (21:00, Bilbao)

28 June

5: 2D v 2E (18:00, Copenhagen)
6: 1F v 3A/B/C (21:00, Bucharest)

29 June

7: 1D v 2F (18:00, Dublin)
8: 1E v 3A/B/C/D (21:00, Glasgow)
Rest days on 30 June and 1 July


2 July

QF1: Winner 6 v Winner 5 (18:00, St Petersburg)
QF2: Winner 4 v Winner 2 (21:00, Munich)

3 July

QF3: Winner 3 v Winner 1 (18:00, Baku)
QF4: Winner 8 v Winner 7 (21:00, Rome)
Rest days on 5 and 6 July


6 July

SF1: Winner QF2 v Winner QF1 (21:00, London)

7 July

SF2: Winner QF4 v Winner QF3 (21:00, London)
Rest days on 9, 10, 11 July


11 July

Winner SF1 v Winner SF2 (21:00, London)


Statistics for the FIFA World Cup with titles, finals and participations.

Most successful national teams in FIFA World Cup
Team Titles Finals Participation
Brazil 5 7 21
Germany 4 8 19
Italy 4 6 18
Argentina 2 5 17
France 2 3 15
Uruguay 2 2 13
England 1 1 15
Spain 1 1 15
Netherlands 0 3 10
Hungary 0 2 9
Czechoslovakia 0 2 8
Sweden 0 1 12
Croatia 0 1 5

In total, eight nations have won the tournament.

See facts about the last tournament World Cup 2020 in Russia.


More about some of the partcipating national teams

Belgium national football team logoBelgium
Croatia national football team logoCroatia
Denmark national football team logoDenmark
England national football team logoEngland
France national football team logoFrance
Germany national football team logoGermany
Hungary national football team logoHungary
Italy national football team logoItaly
Poland national football team logoPoland
Portugal national football team logoPortugal
Spain national football team logoSpain