Coppa Italia

Coppa Italia began in 1922, although the first edition didn’t include the best teams and the tournament would, after one edition, pause until 1926 when it was reintroduced only to be abandon before finished. In 1935, however, the tournament was more successfully arranged, but after seven editions it would halt due to the Second World War. It was not resumed until 1958, but has thereafter remained as a prestigious competition in Italian football for many decades.

Winners and runners-up

All the winners and runners-up trough the history of the Coppa Italia.

Season Winner Runner-up
2022-2023 Inter Fiorentina
2021-2022 Inter Juventus
2020-2021 Juventus Atalanta
2019-2020 Napoli Juventus
2018-2019 Juventus Milan
2017-2018 Juventus Milan
2016-2017 Juventus Lazio
2015-2016 Juventus Milan
2014-2015 Juventus Lazio
2013-2014 Napoli Fiorentina
2012-2013 Lazio Roma
2011-2012 Napoli Fiorentina
2010-2011 Inter Palermo
2009-2010 Inter Roma
2008-2009 Lazio Sampdoria
2007-2008 Inter Roma
2006-2007 Roma Inter
2005-2006 Inter Roma
2004-2005 Inter Roma
2003-2004 Lazio Juventus
2002-2003 Milan Roma
2001-2002 Parma Juventus
2000-2001 Fiorentina Parma
1999-2000 Lazio Inter
1998-1999 Parma Fiorentina
1997-1998 Lazio Inter
1996-1997 Vicenza Napoli
1995-1996 Fiorentina Atalanta
1994-1995 Juventus Parma
1993-1994 Sampdoria Ancona
1992-1993 Torino Roma
1991-1992 Parma Juventus
1990-1991 Roma Sampdoria
1989-1990 Juventus Milan
1988-1989 Sampdoria Napoli
1987-1988 Sampdoria Torino
1986-1987 Napoli Atalanta
1985-1986 Roma Sampdoria
1984-1985 Sampdoria Milan
1983-1984 Roma Verona
1982-1983 Juventus Verona
1981-1982 Inter Torino
1980-1981 Roma Torino
1979-1980 Roma Torino
1978-1979 Juventus Palermo
1977-1978 Inter Napoli
1976-1977 Milan Inter
1975-1976 Napoli Verona
1974-1975 Fiorentina Milan
1973-1974 Bologna Palermo
1972-1973 Milan Juventus
1971-1972 Milan Napoli
1970-1971 Torino* Milan*
1969-1970 Bologna* Torino*
1968-1969 Roma* Cagliari*
1967-1968 Torino* Milan*
1966-1967 Milan Padova
1965-1966 Fiorentina Catanzaro
1964-1965 Juventus Inter
1963-1964 Roma Torino
1962-1963 Atalanta Torino
1961-1962 Napoli SPAL
1960-1961 Fiorentina Lazio
1959-1960 Juventus Fiorentina
1958-1959 Juventus Fiorentina
1958 Lazio Fiorentina
1941-1942 Juventus Milan
1940-1941 Veneziac Roma
1939-1940 Fiorentina Genoa
1938-1939 Inter Novara
1937-1938 Juventus Torino
1936-1937 Genoa Roma
1935-1936 Torino Allessandria
1922 Vado Udinese

* No final was played, instead a final group phase was used.

Italian tricolor rosette

Juventus shirt with tricolor rosetteSince the 1958 edition of the cup a round rosette (Italian tricolor rosette or in Italian: coccarda italiana tricolore) with green, white and red colors, is placed on the jerseys of the winnings team in the following season. On the picture to the right, the bullseye-looking cockade symbol, can be seen on a Juventus shirt.

Venue for the final

The final in Coppa Italia have mostly been play in Rome at Stadio Olimpico.


During the editions played from 1999 to 2018, the competition was officially called TIM Cup due to sponsorship reasons.



Teams with most titles

List of clubs that have won the Coppa Italia most times, concerning the period 1922-2023.

Table 2. Clubs and Coppa Italia titles
Club Titles
Juventus 15
Rom 9
Inter 9
Fiorentina 6
Lazio 6
Torino 5
Napoli 5
Milan 5
Sampdoria 4
Parma  3
Bologna 2

In total, 16 different clubs have won the cup through its history. Atalanta, Genua, Vado, Venezia and Vicenza have also won one time each.

Teams with most finals

List of clubs that have played in the Coppa Italia final most times, concerning the period 1922-2022.

Table 3. Clubs and Coppa Italia finals
Club Titles
Juventus 21
Roma 17
Milan 15
Inter 15
Torino 13
Fiorentina 11
Napoli 9

It should be mentioned that the cup wasn't decided by a final, but instead a final group phase between 1968 and 1971.


Coppa Italia timeline

1922 The competition is established.
1926 The competition is reintroduced, but abandoned during the same season.
1935 The competition is reintroduced after been cancelled since 1927.
1960 Juventus become the first club to win the tournament two years in a row (1959-1960).
2017 Juventus become the first club to win the tournament three years in a row (2015-2017).
2018 Juventus become the first club to win the tournament four years in a row (2015-2018).