Scottish Premiership

Scottish Premiership is the top tier in the Scottish Championship league system. Scottish Professional Football League (SPFL) was established in 2013 after a merger of the Scottish Premier League and the Scottish Football League.


Scottish Championship is a relative new league, but it should be seen as the new name of an old league, one of the oldest actually. The original Scottish Football League was inaugurated in 1890 (which could be compared with the English Football League founded in 1888).

In 1893, the league started to allow professional players and a second division was also established. Until 1946 the top-flight was called Division One, when it changed to Division A for nine seasons until it became Division One again. In 1975, the name of the top-flight once again change its name, this time to Premier Division.

The Scottish league would change name to Scottish Football Premier League in 1975 and since 2013 the first division has been called Scottish Premiership.

The easiest way to refer to historical records and statistics is the call the league Scottish Championship, which include all names and versions since 1890.

League system

Scottish Premiership is the top level of the Scottish Professional Football League The second division is since 2013 known as Scottish Championship (previously the first level in Scottish Football League). An overview of the current national league system is presented in the table below.

Table 1. Scottish football tiers
Club Tier
Scottish Premiership 1
Scottish Championship 2
Scottish League One 3
Scottish League Two 4
Highland / Lowland Football League 5

Below the fourth tier, the league is played on a semi-professional level and divided in regions. The fight tier consists of Highland Football League and Lowland Football League.



Teams with most titles

Statistics of all Scottish clubs that have won the top division between 1890 and 2019.

Table 2. Clubs and Scottish Championship titles
Club Titles
Rangers 54
Celtic 50
Aberdeen 4
Heart of Midlothian 4
Hibernian 4
Dunbarton 2
Dundee 1
Kilmarnock 1
Dundee United 1
Third Lanark 1

Teams with most titles in the 2000s

Statistics of the Scottish clubs that have won the top division between 2000 and 2019.

Table 3. Scottish Championship titles in the 2000s
Club Titles
Celtic 15
Rangers 4

In the historic struggle between the two superior clubs, Celtic have got the upper hand in the current millennia. This is partly due to the Rangers liquidation in 2012.


Capacity of Scottish Premiership stadiums

The table shows the capacity of all Scottish Premiership club stadiums. Celtic and Rangers have by far the biggest stadiums.

Table 4. The stadium capacities in the Premiership season 2018-2019
Team Stadium name Capacity
Aberdeen Pittodrie Stadium 20,866
Celtic Celtic Park 60,411
Dundee Dens 11,506
Hamilton Academical New Douglas Park 5,510
Heart of Midlothian Tynecastle Park 20,099
Hiberian Easter Road 20,421
Kilmarnock Rugby Park 17,889
Livingston Almondvale Stadium 9,512
Motherwell Fir Park 17,889
Rangers Ibrox Stadium 50,817
St Johnstone McDiarmid Park 10,696
St Mirren St Mirren Park 8,023

By Oscar Anderson